Note to Self: Thursday 8th September is Fashion’s Night Out!

This week, fashion is taking over the world! Well, at least, Fashion’s Night Out (FNO) is taking over 18 cities across the globe, the majority of which will take place this Thursday 8th September.

The event started in 2009 in a bid to draw consumers back to the shops during the recession. Conceived by American Vogue, together with the CFDA, stores were encouraged to host parties and stay open late. The event proved such a hit that not only did retailers beg Vogue to do it again, they asked for it to take place twice a year! Instead, Vogue agreed to host the event annually and FNO soon spread across the world with events this year being held in places as far flung as India and Japan.

However, with such an array of options to choose from, how’s a girl to know which cities will host the best events and, more importantly, given the many photobooths that will be springing up on the night, what’s a girl to wear?

Well, fear not because we’ve done the hard work for you. Not only have we picked out where to head for the best events in New York, London, Los Angeles and Paris but we’ve chosen the stand-out event in each city and suggested an outfit. And just in case you need to jot down all of this info, we’ve even picked out a notebook to accompany each look.

All the events below kick off around 5pm on Thursday, 8th September. Now all you need is a private jet to ensure you get to each city in time!

 I Love Paris in the Springtime

5pm Paris (4pm London, 11am New York, 8am Los Angeles)

 Location, Location, Location: The majority of events will be taking place on avenue Montaigne, where stores such as Louis Vuitton, Dolce & Gabbana and Giorgio Armani will be participating. Rue Francois 1er (Celine) and avenue George V (Givenchy) will also play host to some fabulous parties. Take note: you’ll need a copy of French Vogue as a pass to get into most stores (each copy admits two).

What’s in Store: Whether it’s FNO or not, as a rule of thumb, if you’re in Paris the only place to go is Chanel (42 av Montaigne). I am reliably informed that there is a party going on at the boutique on the night although the precise nature of events remains “un secret”. Ooh la la.

Paris FNO Website: http://fashionsnightout.vogue.fr/

Wear it Out: Stripes, beret, Chanel bag and you’re set! Just don’t forget the Eurostar ticket.

Top: Sonia Rykiel for H&M

Skirt: Topshop

Necklace: Chanel

Beret: Sonia Rykiel for H&M

Sunglasses: Jean Paul Gaultier

Notebook: Lanvin

Bag: Chanel

Shoes: Kurt Geiger

 

London’s Calling

5pm London (6pm Paris, 12pm New York, 9am Los Angeles)

Location, Location, Location: Coinciding with London’s High Street Fashion Week, London is going FNO crazy. As well as Regent Street, Oxford Street and New Bond Street taking part, for the first time ever Covent Garden has signed up, making this the biggest London FNO to date.

What’s in Store: Mulberry (50 New Bond Street) are hosting a Fashion’s Night Out extravaganza with a celeb DJ on the decks, English food being dished out and prize draws taking place. And that’s just inside the store: outside there’ll be a pop-up stall with face paints and manicures – once you’re all done up make sure you get a snap inside the Mulberry photobooth!

London FNO Website: http://fashions-night-out.vogue.co.uk/

Wear it Out: Go hell for leather and toughen up a feminine dress in a nod to the birthplace of punk rock.

Dress: Topshop Dress Up

Chainmail Bracelet: Stella McCartney for H&M

Charm Bracelet: Henry Holland for Debenhams

Sunglasses: Luella

Bag: Mulberry for Target

Notebook: Smythsons

Shoes: Kurt Geiger

 

A New York Minute

5pm New York (11pm Paris, 10pm London, 2pm Los Angeles)

Location, Location, Location: Times Square, SoHo and the Meatpacking District will all play host to fabulous Fashion’s Night Out events. Oh, and be a doll, would you? Let me know if you spot the Barbie Loves FNO tourbus.

What’s in Store: A pit stop at DKNY (655 Madison Ave) is a must: they’ll be giving away Bill Cunningham DVDs and limited edition tote bags, offering haircuts from the Blind Barber and taking snaps for the Pose App. Don’t forget to save room for the popcorn and beers they’ll be handing out too.

New York FNO Website: http://fashionsnightout.com/fno

Wear it Out: Keep it chic and sleek – perfect for a pre-FNO breakfast at Tiffany’s!

Dress: Calvin Klein

Necklace: Tiffany’s

Ring: Marc by Marc Jacobs

Sunglasses: Madonna for H&M

Bag: DKNY

Notebook: DKNY

Shoes: Kurt Geiger

 

 California Dreaming

5pm Los Angeles (2am Paris, 1am London, 8pm New York)

Location, Location, Location: West Hollywood is where it’s at on Thursday with major events happening at The Grove, the Beverly Centre and Rodeo Drive.

What’s in Store: Between models and makeovers at The Grove, a carnival on Rodeo and runway shows hosted by Nicole Richie at the Beverly Centre, it really is impossible to choose a stand out event. Call a limo and attend them all!

Los Angeles FNO Website: http://fashionsnightout.com/fno/outside-nyc

Wear it Out: Dress up laid back West Coast style with a blazer & heels.

Blazer: Juicy Couture

Vest: Karl Lagerfeld for Tokidoki

Shorts: Topshop

Bracelet: Kitson L.A.

Bag: Marc by Marc Jacobs

Notebook: Anna Sui

Shoes: Kurt Geiger

 

Surf’s Up

But don’t worry if you can’t get to any of the events taking place on Thursday, because FNO will bring the party to you with many retailers hosting events online too.

And remember, shopping from home means you get to wear the most fabulous outfit of all: pajamas!

Wherever you are, enjoy your (fashion’s) night out.

 I’ll be tweeting live from London’s FNO this Thursday – follow me on @worrierblog!

Advertisements
This entry was published on September 6, 2011 at 12:01 am. It’s filed under Fashion, GirlyGirl, London, Los Angeles, New York, Paris and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: