Flaming Lips: Lulu Guinness at Burlington Arcade

I finally made it to Lulu Guinness’ new shop at Burlington Arcade, which opened last month! I was thrilled when I heard she would be bringing her gorgeous bags to Mayfair (she already has stores in East and South West London) and the Victorian charm of the Arcade – it opened in 1819 – sets the perfect scene for her quirky designs.

The shop windows offer a peek into a veritable treasure trove of delights, which is especially fitting given that Christmas is fast approaching. The windows are currently covered in gold snow flakes, which were inspired by her Cruise 2011 collection confetti print. Speaking of cruise(s), the suitcases (£195-£245) are perfect for a minibreak!

The centrepiece of the store, however, is the Wall of Lips. If I had the moolah, I would just buy the entire thing and install it as a piece of art in my sitting room. For the present, I’ll just collect them one by one, like Puppies in my Pocket. Now to decide between the Barbie pink perspex one and the rock chick studded black one….

Lips clutches £225-£450.

The store was smaller than I anticipated but perfectly formed. Lulu has called it a “jewel box”, which is “perfect for displaying my smaller items: notebooks, tea set, top zips and key rings, which all look perfectly in proportion!”

Notebooks £49.

The tea set, in particular, made my jaw drop. I love the Victoriana cameo-style portraits whilst the stripes are a typical Lulu twist to an otherwise very traditional item. Tea-lightful!

Tea set £26-£96

As you walk up the stairs in the store you can’t help but notice some very chic graffiti that looks like it’s been scrawled in lipstick. With slogans such as ‘You can never have too many handbags’ the wall also offers great wisdom in answer to questions such as ‘Do I really need another handbag?’

Upstairs on the red-carpeted landing (it really is like stepping into someone’s home) there is another display featuring one of my other favourite items, the fan clutch. I admit it, I’m fan-atical about Lulu Guinness’ designs!

Black Sophie Fan clutch £595.

Also, check out this amazing sofa. Apparently Ms Guinness had it made up  custom especially for the store. And sadly, no, it’s a) not for sale and b) does not have room for storage. I was not the first person to ask those questions!

More trinkets are laid out upstairs including umbrellas, purses and keyrings.

In the corner there was a display with these incredible bouquet bags as well as the birdcage clutch. Also just peeking out there are some fabulous Lulu Guinness umbrellas. I recently got the birdcage walking umbrella as a birthday gift for a friend (shhh, don’t tell) but I’m not sure I’ll actually be able to part with it when the time comes.

Finally, in honour of the new store, Lulu Guinness has also designed this limited edition Burlington Arcade handbag (£395) so you can store your trinkets in style!

Lulu Guinness at the Burlington Arcade can be found at:

42 Burlington Arcade
London
W1J 0QG

Closest tube is Green Park

Opening hours are Mon-Sat 9am-7pm; Sun 11am-5pm.

This entry was published on November 26, 2011 at 12:56 am. It’s filed under Gifts, GirlyGirl, Lulu Guinness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Flaming Lips: Lulu Guinness at Burlington Arcade

  1. I only ever went to the Ellis Street store, but after reading your blog post I neeeed to go to Burlington Arcade! Such a beautiful store! I’m not even sure if they sell the tea set at the Ellis Street store as well… another reason to check out the B. Arcade one.

  2. I only ever went to the Ellis Street store, but after reading your blog post I neeeed to go to Burlington Arcade! Such a beautiful store! I’m not even sure if they sell the tea set at the Ellis Street store as well… another reason to check out the B. Arcade one.

  3. Pingback: Full Lulu Guinness x Uniqlo Look Book! Mischief, Glamour and Sophistication « Worrier Princess

Leave a Reply

