A Teenage Dream: Katy Perry Beauty Style Guide

Katy Perry presenting the
2010 Teen Choice Awards

Over the last few years I have slowly fallen in love with Katy Perry: her songs are fun, she doesn’t take herself too seriously and I absolutely adore her style, which ranges from super kitsch to pin up. Over the last few years she has also collaborated with some of my favourite go-to beauty brands so I’ve thrown together a Kate Perry beauty style guide!

Lashings of Fun

Clockwise from top: Cool Kitty, Oh M!y, Oh Honey!, Sweetie Pie

Katy’s most recent collaboration is with Eylure. I am addicted to Eylure’s Girls Aloud range so was super excited to hear that they were teaming up with the California Girl.

There are four sets of lashes ranging from the eye-popping ‘Oh, My!’ to the more natural ‘Sweetie Pie’ and the tongue-in-cheek names seem to have been inspired by her 1940s pin-up persona. I can’t wait to try them out!

UK: £5.95 – £6.95 Available from February 2012

US: $6.99 Available now fom ULTA

Polish it Off

L-R: Last Friday Night, Not Like the Movies, The One That Got Away, Teenage Dream, Shatter Top Coat

Katy also worked on a collection with OPI , which was released this time last year and still looks fresh. The range consists of four different colours and a black shatter top coat so you can create a leopard print look that fits right in with Katy’s cat-loving nature. The glittery blue Last Friday Night is a particularly unusual shade, which I love, as well as the more grown-up looking mulberry The One That Got Away.

US: $9 from various

Kitty Purry

Katy’s first fragrance, Purr, combines top notes of peach, forbidden apple and green bamboo in a gorgeous bottle. Purple is my favourite colour so this was obviously a no-brainer for me and I also like that it’s shaped like a cat with jewel eyes and a cute collar. The cherry on top is the pun-tastic name of the perfume, which references cats, perfume and even Katy’s surname. Purr-fection!

UK: 50ml £39.99 ex delivery from Katy Perry Beauty UK

US: 1.7oz $45.00 ex delivery from Nordstrums

Victorious

Although not a collaboration, Katy Perry has been heavily endorsing GHDs since 2011 and has starred in two ad campaigns for the hair brand. I got my first pair of GHDs in 2006 and I literally could not live without them. Yes, literally. One year when I was in Florida and my voltage converter busted (leaving me to go to a concert at the Hard Rock with half my hair straight and half my hair looking like Patty and Selma from the Simpsons) I spent a $60 cab fare the next morning to go to the nearest salon that sold US GHDs.

Anyway, I love the images from the winter campaign, especially the one above where the sultry singer has her pink hair up in victory rolls. LOVE it.

UK: £79 – £129.00 from GHD UK

US: $199.00 – $205.00 from GHD US

Star Gazing

I actually once spotted Katy in London (on Hampstead High Street, for those of you who know London) but I didn’t realise it was her until I saw paparazzi shots the next day online – I would totally have asked for a pic if I’d realised! Instead, I made do with this picture of her actual Teenage Dream costume displayed in Diesel’s New York store and watching her present the Teen Choice Awards in LA in 2010. Sweet!

This entry was published on January 21, 2012 at 4:45 pm. It’s filed under Beauty, Collaboration, GirlyGirl, Style Guide and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “A Teenage Dream: Katy Perry Beauty Style Guide

  1. Pingback: Rockabilly Women’s Styles

Leave a Reply

