UT Loves Lulu: Uniqlo x Lulu Guinness Launch Party

Last Thursday saw Uniqlo’s flagship store on Oxford Street invaded by kooky cats, luscious lips and doll faces in celebration of the UT Lulu Guinness launch party. Despite the collection actually having launched the previous Monday (and promptly selling out of all but two designs), the Lulu gang pulled off a fabulous event that included a host of activities and delicacies for Lulu fans to partake.In an interview Lulu suggested wearing her t-shirts over a 1950s dress for ‘casual eveningwear’ so for the event I wore my ‘Love Lulu’ t-shirt in black over a halterneck rockabilly dress from Collectif. This was accessorised with a tartan Lulu Guinness ‘Wanda’ bag, black Lulu Guinness ‘Kooky Cat’ bracelet and heels from Office that I bought ages ago because they looked really similar to some Gucci shoes I fell in love with on my internship at Vogue.In honour of the event the store was decked out with Lulu-inspired ornamentation and activities, from the retro bonbon bar (complete with macaroons trees, jars of sweets and, of course, a bowl of jelly lips) to the cocktail waitresses with their 1950s hair-dos and crystal decanters. Lulu herself was on hand to host the event (above far left) and arrived carrying one of her lips clutches (in shocking pink perspex: the exact shade that I’ve been lusting after for absolutely ages. That’s totally a sign it’s time to get one, right?).As well as drinks, bonbons and a hair styling bar, there were manicurists from Butter on hand offering bespoke Lulu-inspired manicures. Apparently most people had selected the ladylike, if rather safe, red so I went for black (to match my outfit) with a Lulu design on each ring finger: on my left hand I had a Kooky Cat (he’s still there, looking at me as I type!) to go with my bracelet and on my right a lips print.At the event I was lucky enough to meet Lulu. She commented on my t-shirt, because apparently she had not yet seen the black version out of the packet and she seemed very pleased with it, even saying she should pick one up for herself! (I would have thought she would have them all!) Whilst signing a postcard she also noticed my Wanda bag, saying it was “nice to see old friends” and offering to sign it. She noted that it was quite a ‘punky’ style and I agreed it was because of the tartan. I also told her that I loved her lips clutch and had been wanting one in pink perspex for ages. She replied that when she thought of Uniqlo she thought of bright, neon colours and had considered bringing a yellow one before eventually opting for pink.Whilst I had bought my chosen tees within half an hour of them going on sale two weeks ago, I took the opportunity on Thursday to swap them for smaller sizes, as they come up quite big. I loved the stripey sleeves on the Love Lulu tee and thought the Kooky Cat tee was super cute and easy to wear. The *Doll Face print is the most iconic of the collection, as it’s been used in all the promotional images whilst the London by Night tee seemed quite romantic, as it reminded me of the view from Primrose Hill.

All in all it was a super fun evening. And if you didn’t get a chance to get your hands on one of Lulu’s t-shirts, I’ve heard a rumour there may be more stock available in June!

 *Fun fact: I read the other day that Doll Face was inspired by Peggy Moffitt, the ’60s model. Check out a picture of her below: makes sense right?

This entry was published on April 28, 2012 at 9:25 pm. It’s filed under Collaboration, GirlyGirl, London, Lulu Guinness, Uniqlo and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “UT Loves Lulu: Uniqlo x Lulu Guinness Launch Party

  1. Pingback: Brit Invasion | take flight

  2. manda on said:

    You’re so lucky to have met her in real life! I just got my tees this weekend too and thankfully not many people has heard about the launch yet so I think every design is still out on the racks!

  3. Pingback: 15 Minutes of Beauty: Andy Warhol x Nars Cosmetics « Worrier Princess

Leave a Reply

