Presents and Presentation: The BFF

Shopping is guilt-free when you’re buying for other people so I love scouting out gifts for friends. Recently a close girl friend celebrated her birthday so I had a fun time picking out some chic and wacky gifts. This particular friend loves Lanvin (to be fair, who doesn’t?) so I always try and get her something from the Parisian fashion house without breaking the bank. You may be wondering how that’s possible. Well, check it out: in 2010 I bought her a perfume set of Lanvin’s classic fragrance Eclat d’Arpege, which came in a lovely presentation box together with a miniature version (above left). In 2011 Alber Elbaz, Lanvin’s artistic director, helped me out by collaborating with H&M on a more budget-friendly range. My friend had been lusting after a full-priced Lanvin handbag with chain link handles so when I saw this bag, above right, in the H&M collection I had to get it for her.This year, to continue the Lanvin theme, I found this gorgeous Lanvin hard-back ‘Dresses’ notebook in Harrods, above left, which comes in a lovely presentation bag. I also try to get her something a bit quirky (last year it was a plush Angry Birds keyring to go with the Lanvin handbag) s0 this year I went for a giant Vaseline lip tin, as she loves trying out all their new flavours. The mini tins are perfect for popping into different handbags whilst the big one can be used for storage!As she’s a close friend I wanted to get her a little extra something so this ‘Relaxing Essentials’ pampering tin from Space NK seemed the perfect thing, as it comes with body lotion, bath and shower gel, milk soak and a relaxing candle. It also comes with another notebook but then, you can never have too many!Ages ago I bought a box of blank cards and envelopes in a range of colours so I could make my own cards. For the above card I used a variety of stickers from John Lewis, Superdrug and eBay. I sealed it with a sticker from Mulberry with strict instructions not to open it until her birthday!All wrapped up! My mother always told me that presentation is super important with gifts as it’s the first thing your recipient will see. I used foil, tissue paper (great for awkwardly-shaped items, like the Vaseline tin) and ribbons before popping all the gifts in a fun carrier bag that matched the colour scheme.

As they might say at Lanvin’s Parisian headquarters: Et voilà!

This entry was published on April 29, 2012 at 10:17 pm. It’s filed under Gifts, GirlyGirl and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

