A Disney Look at Paris

A couple of weeks ago I spent an extended weekend in Paris, partly to check out the Marc Jacobs/Louis Vuitton exhibit at Les Arts Decoratifs (post coming soon) and partly to go to Disneyland. As it happened, I ended up having a very Disney weekend in Paris. My kind of culture!My first stop in Paris was department store Colette (sadly I missed Kanye West, and Kim K who were there last week). Colette is super fun, mixing high fashion with pop culture, as you can see from the hand-painted Mickeys and Minis, above, which were displayed next to men’s t-shirts.After Colette I headed to the Champs Elysee where I stopped by the Disney Store, just to have a peek at the French merch. Since I was saving myself for Disneyland I didn’t spend too much time there, especially as they’re the first Disney Store I’ve been in which has a no photography policy.On Sunday I took a walk around Rue de Castiglione and Rue Cambon, mainly in the hope of sampling some Pierre Herme chocolates. Sadly as it was Sunday everything was closed (Parisiens wilfully ignore market forces) but one of the (closed) art galleries was hosting an exhibition of Marilyn Monroe themed pop art, and I snapped this Ron English piece in the window!My final stop in Paris was not Chanel, as perhaps would have been more fitting, but pest control store Aurouze, which is on Rue des Halles. A pest control store might not be on everyone’s to do list when in Paris, but Arouze was immortalised in the Disney Pixar film Ratatouille. When I found out it was a real place, I had to stop by although I didn’t have the stomach to step inside.After my detour I hopped onto the RER and headed straight for Disneyland Paris, which is where I snapped this pic of Cendrillion’s carriage. I’ll post a trip report of my Disneyland stay soon!

This entry was published on June 25, 2012 at 10:57 pm. It’s filed under Disney, GeekyGirl, Paris and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

